Valentine’s Day


I love Valentine’s Day. Not because it is a day to buy a Hallmark card or to shower gifts on to my loved one, but because this is the day that I first met my husband eight years ago. The 14th February every year enables me to reflect on what we have done together and how our relationship is progressing. As a matter of fact, it was the 14th February 2009 that has the most meaning to me (besides 2003). After being separated for four months due to work pressures, hubby and I decided to reunite again. This day was only the beginning to healing the scars that had formed. We both had a lot of work to do in order to make our relationship work. The 14th February 2009 was a day where we both said that we were willing to do whatever it took to make our relationship stronger and here we are two years later thick as thieves. Stronger than we have ever been before. I love that on this day hubby and I will take time out to ensure that there is romance in our relationship. People get caught up in the day to day and despite the cynicism that surrounds Valentine’s day, it is great to have a day which is dedicated to relationships, just like Mother’s day is dedicated to all our great mums. Yes, romance should be in a relationship every day, but let’s face it…. relationships are not just about romance, they are goddam hard work. There is many a frustration, compromise, disagreement and disappointment in relationships too. But when you have found someone where those attributes are worth it… than that in itself is romantic.

