Selling myself


I am awesome, just ask my mother. Unfortunately however, my mother’s referral has not been enough for some people and I have had to stand up and prove myself…. my worth.

I had a job interview today and let’s just say I have done better. Whether it be that my current lack of work has led to the grey-matter getting a bit fuzzy or my nerves got the better of me when I realised I was being interviewed by a member of the royal family in Dubai, I can not say, but the words just didn’t seem to flow. (In some cases, I think the words overflowed but did not make much sense!)

Anyhoo, after the interview, I shook it out and realised life goes on. Whatever will be, will be. It got me thinking however that I am getting to the stage where I can not be bothered selling myself anymore. I know I am damn good at what I do. One would just need to google my unique name and bingo, my brilliance would shine from the page. πŸ™‚

I find the whole “interviewing” techniques interesting. Obviously both parties are interviewing each other, and as much as I perspired in the interview, I realised later that these are just every day ordinary men. Men who I probably wouldn’t pay much attention to on the street and who all have their weaknesses also. It was clear to me that the COO’s weaknesses include women. He actually asked me if I was married after the interview(!). The HR Director is arrogant and sexist. The MD is also arrogant, but in a way I guess is acceptable for a man in his position.

Would I work there? Too be honest, I do not know the answer to that question, but I guess it is nice to have the option.

I no longer wish to sell myself, but prove myself. I need, no….. must finish writing my book. Then the HR Director would not have to ask me if I felt I was capable of doing the job…. he would already know!

P.S. Driving from Abu Dhabi to Sharjah for an interview is a long drive and today I thank my stars that I am still alive after witnessing the crazy driving on the roads along three different emirates!

 

