Culture Vulture


I went to see A Midsummer Night’s Dream last night at the Abu Dhabi Theatre performed by UK Theatre Company, Globe Education. It was amazing. For those avid fans of mine (I know who you are Mum) – you would know I studied Shakespeare at university while undertaking English Literature studies. But, what you wouldn’t know is, that I also studied this play as part of my year 12 Drama studies. Unfortunately, I was cut from the cast, but I studied it all the same (still licking the wounds!)

I love this play! It is one of my favourite Shakespearean plays. For those not familiar with this play, firstly I would say go see it, but to give you a quick synopsis, it is a play about love and magic. There are five main love stories intertwined which makes the play also very funny.

It is hard to say which character is my favourite, the young lovers (particularly Lysander, Hermia and Helena), Oberon (the King of the fairies), Puck (aka Robin Goodfellow and Oberon’s servant) or the Mechnicals (an acting troupe). They all make me laugh throughout the play.

There are some famous quotes from this play; notably “The course of true love never did run smooth”and “Lord what fools these mortals be”. I also like the opening of Puck’s prologue:

If we shadows have offended,

Think but this, and all is mended,

That you have but slumbered here

While these visions did appear.

It was great to experience some culture in the young UAE. For those negative thinkers who say there is no culture in Abu Dhabi – I say … you’re not looking hard enough…. mere mortal!!

For further information about the play in Abu Dhabi, I attach this news article: Globe Education’s Dream aims to make Shakespeare relevant to young – The National.

