Country roads take me home


I have a few guilty pleasures that I wouldn’t disclose to my best friend, let alone to the public on a forum (oh wait….)

Oh well, I will still deny it, even when asked and yes, even when it is printed in black and white.

I like country music. Shhhhh… don’t tell anyone. Oh My God. I could talk about my secret Tammy Wynette CD which I hide in the back of a drawer and bring out every now and then. Or, I could tell you about my new-found passion for Kenny Rogers. I mean, I have always known the man sang The Gambler, but what an amazing collection of songs Mr Rogers has. It was my post I picked a fine time to leave him loose wheel which referred to Kenny Rogers’ song Lucille which introduced me to many other songs that this country singer sang. The sad thing is that I also knew a lot of his songs, but I just didn’t realise that they were sung by him.

For example, he sung,  Islands in the Stream and Real Love with Dolly Parton (who I am also a fan of) and You Decorated my Life, but my favourite by far is She believes in me sung in this version live with his friend Lionel Richie.

While I am on this topic, did you know that the song, I will always love you, which is commonly known to be sung by Whitney Houston was originally sung by Dolly Parton?

But enough about the trivia. Here are some of my all time 10 favourite country/western songs:

Ring of Fire – Johnny Cash

Jolene – Dolly Parton

Devil went down to Georgia – Charles Daniels

Country Homes take me Home – John Denver

King of the Road – Roger Miller

Rhinestone Cowboy – Glen Campbell

Rose Garden – Lynn Anderson

Stand by your Man – Tammy Wynette

D.I.V.O.R.C.E – Tammy Wynette

Big Bad John – Jimmy Dean

I am sure you know at least one of them and may even like me, secretly like a few of them. But remember, I will deny even knowing the titles of these songs!

 

 

