Insane Courage


One of the advantages of travelling long distances is catching up on movies. I was excited to see that on my flight to Singapore from Dubai, that War Horse was available. I had heard so much about this movie and really wanted to see it, though I had been told that it was a bit of a tear-jerker.

Not having tissues on me and being overly aware of the fact that I may break down while the complete stranger next to me watched a comedy and other passengers may not want to console a sobbing woman, I hesitantly pushed play and braced myself for the worse.

The worst did not come however. Taking into account that some of the readers of this blog may not have seen this movie, I will not give too much away, but to say, there was no blubbering from me due to this movie. But just to prove I am not a heartless woman, I did have a bit of salt-water welling in my eyes right at the end of the movie.

Phew! I was so glad that I didn’t embarrass myself and have a break down on the plane. Trust me, I have had quite some embarrassing moments when watching movies. I think one of the worst ones was Love Actually!! There is a part in this movie where a wife has been made aware of the fact that her husband has bought a heart necklace, just before Christmas. As a result, the wife is excited to be opening her Christmas presents and is bitterly disappointed to realise that she has just been given a CD. Her heart breaks when she realises that her husband has bought the necklace for someone else. I didn’t just sob at this part of the movie, I howled. I mean real shoulder jerking cries and wails from my mouth.

What I didn’t know however was that I was in for a surprise with the oddly named movie, We bought a Zoo starring Matt Damon. What an odd sounding movie. I was very suspicious of this movie when I chose it, thinking that it may be perhaps more suited to a younger audience.

I was wrong. According to Wikipedia (with some minor editing), this movie is based on a true story about a recently widowed Benjamin Mee (Matt Damon), who, still grieving his loss, starts life over by buying a large house with a zoo in the back. Although reluctant to take on a zoo and all its animals, he decides to give it a try, delighting his 7-year-old daughter, Rosie (Maggie Elizabeth Jones who is absolutely cute in this film), but causing his 14-year-old son, Dylan (Colin Ford), to unhappily retreat into his artwork. The zoo staff, led by head keeper, Kelly (Scarlett Johansson), help Benjamin to start renovating the zoo. Ben soon runs into financial trouble, however, and the workers’ morale sinks, fearing the property will be sold. Meanwhile, Dylan befriends a young girl named Lily (Elle Fanning), who has a huge crush on him that he is completely oblivious to.

Benjamin discovers that his late wife has left him an investment account with instruction to use the money wisely while listening to his heart. While this lifts the zoo workers’ morale, Dylan is unhappy about having to stay. He confronts his father, and a heated argument ensues. They reconcile the next morning, when Benjamin gives his son some relationship advice.

Prior to the zoo’s grand opening, the facility passes a very stringent inspection, and Dylan, following his father’s advice, confesses to Lily that he loves her.

The worst rainstorm in 100 years threatens to wash out the zoo’s grand opening. Although the weather clears in time, they are disappointed when no visitors arrive, until they discover that a fallen tree has blocked the access road, leaving visitors unsure if the zoo is open. Eventually, the zoo is well received by the community. Kelly admits to Benjamin that she has a crush on him but, “can’t get a handle on it.” She kisses him, telling him maybe they can do that again on New Years.

I bawled my eyes out in this movie. The scenes which depict Benjamin’s love for his wife are so moving. There are also some wonderful quotes in this movie, including the husbter’s favourite: it is what it is. But my all time favourite in this movie is:

All you need is 20 seconds of insane courage, literally 20 seconds of embarrassing bravery and I promise you something great will come of it.

This was a true goosebumps moment for me. It is something I have tried to install into the hubster. While I could be better at having courage, I am not shy of embarrassing myself – in fact I do it often! It appears to me that too many people are fearful of rejection and would rather live without knowing what may have come out of being insanely courageous.

I have attached a link to the trailer of the movie here

I thoroughly recommend the movie. It is directed by Cameron Crowe, who also directed Jerry Maguire and bought to the world two great quotes: You had me at hello and show me the money!

Ignore the oddly sounding title and give it a go. Oh a bring the tissues!

