Day 14 & 15: Was it something I eight? Nine!


The suppository worked. Yes indeedy. About 30mins after taking it, I was sitting on the throne for about another 30mins. But that was it. It was very gentle in comparison to some of the other suppositories I have taken. I actually cancelled a night out with friends as I thought that I would be running to the toilet every few hours 🙂

Today, I was up at 6am for a shower. I had to remind myself not to use deoderant, perfume or put on jewellery. My appointment at the clinic was at 7:30am. When I arrived, I was asked to change into a hospital gown, put a net on my head and to put hospital shoes on. I was also given a heat pack to put on my left hand for the anesthesiologist. My fertility doctor was going to be the one to do my egg collection. He did my egg collection for attempt four of IVF.

I was then taken into the theatre room, given my anaesthetic and within a minute was out of it.

I woke up about an hour later to be told that they had retrieved eight eggs.

Eight is the lowest I have ever had collected, but I am still happy. As my doctor keeps saying, it is quality not quantity. But for those that are interested, here are my previous stats: IVF #1: 14 Eggs, IVF #2: 11 Eggs, IVF#3: 10 Eggs, IVF#4: 12 Eggs

Here is also the wikipedia outline of the number eight. I personally like that the number 8 is the sign of infinity on its side!

I have been pretty sleepy all day today. In fact, the hubster has gone to look at our rental house as I couldn’t get myself out of bed. I am in quite a bid of pain also in the abdomen, but only if I move. Once I am comfortable, I am fine!

So eight eggs, be friendly to the husbter’s sperm and fertilise … well!

Now, I need to focus on getting my uterus in shape for the transfer. Off for another round of acupuncture tomorrow.

Until then….

EDIT: 24/4/12 – I have just been advised that NINE eggs were collected, not eight!

