Day 22: 4dp3dt – Power to the Progesterone


I had my midluteal blood test today. This tests ensures that there is enough progesterone in the system to support a pregnancy. This does not indicate pregnancy, but confirms that the uterine lining can thicken enough in order for SPOT and DOT to embed and build a comfortable home for the next few months.

I had a long wait for the results of this test and ended up going to see my niece again. She slept for most of the time I was there, but I was able to have a quick hold, feed her and burp her. She is more beautiful than ever. Her eyes are so big and blue. It is instant love!

The report of my blood test came in while I was visiting my brother and my progesterone levels are good. There is no change to my medications…. PHEW! This is the first time I have not had to use pessaries so I am stoked!

So power to the progesterone!

On another note, I have been advised by my colleague at work that I have been put on a list of people to fire. Those following my blog prior to my ivf journey will know that my work was going through a lot of issues and facing bankruptcy. There have been a few terminations and it looks like there are more coming. As such, my name is on the list. According to my colleague it wont happen until I return to work. So maybe I will extend my holidays 🙂

Oh well. It is what it is. If all goes well with IVF I was going to leave work anyway. I just would have liked the option rather than having the option taken away from me. If IVF doesn’t work, I am going to find it difficult to go back to Abu Dhabi, not pregnant and without a job…..

On a positive note – it gives me plenty of time to finish my book 🙂

