Where do I come from?


I remember coming across a book when I was about eight years old called “Where did I come from?” The book was an illustrated cartoon about how a baby is conceived. I was very curious and fascinated by this book, but still too young to really understand.

Fortunately for me, my mother had “the talk” with me when I was about 10 and she even went into further details about what happens to girls in particular. It was the first time I realised that I was going to have a period one day. I closed my eyes and mind to it all, I remember wishing my mother never had this talk with me. Ignorance WAS bliss.

There was never any talk about other ways to make a baby. The ONLY way I knew of making a baby was the conventional way. And for my parents, their three children were all made the conventional way.

Since that talk, I have come to learn a lot more about conceiving a child and though it is easy for some, others will, for whatever reason find it difficult to have a baby the conventional way. I can not begin to explain how much I have learnt about the female reproductive system AND how naive I actually was. Even as a young married woman, I continued to close my eyes and mind to fertility, until one day I had no choice but to face reality. If the hubster and I wanted to have a child, we needed to learn about what we needed to do. The stork was not going to magically make her appearance!

Making a baby was no longer going to be an act of nature, but science. I was going to have to take medication – a lot of it. But, I was not going to just accept whatever the doctor gave me blindly, I wanted to know what the medication would do. All of a sudden I was understanding ovulation charting, follicles, female hormones and how they all worked. FSH, Progesterone, Oestrogen, discharges. I also studied how the ovaries, uterus and cervix all play an important role in female reproduction along with the hypothalamus. It all seemed like a very complex system and in fact, it would be a miracle for any baby to survive the long journey to birth! I am still learning today.

Should the hubster and I be fortunate enough to have a child, it will not only understand the conventional way to make a baby, but the way it was made. In my opinion though there are some similar attributes; love, luck and God. Although the way I have attempted to make a baby so far has been through the work of science, in the long run, it is God’s work.

We have the love part down pat – the rest is Lady Luck and God.

Praying for my miracle.

 

