Wonders of the World


I am back from spending four days in Jordan. This time I got to visit Petra!  Wow! This historical and archaeological city, famous for its rock-cut architecture is truly amazing. It is little wonder that this rose-red city, half as old as time, has been listed as a place to see before you die and is included in the New Seven Wonders of the World. To truly appreciate this site, you need to give yourself an absolute minimum of three hours, but you could spend up to three days exploring the whole site. The two main features are the Treasury and the Monastery, and trust me, they truly are spectacular.

Treasury

I have been fortunate to see another wonder of the world; the Great Pyramids of Giza, making that two of the seven! That is quite amazing when I think of it!But, I am easily amazed. Diving the Red Sea again in Aqaba, Jordan was amazing. Oh, how I love diving the Red Sea. This time, we got to dive the Cedar Pride wreck, a 74m long cargo vessel. In August 1982, a fire spread from the engine room while the ship was at anchor, killing the chef and the captain. Despite the total constructive loss of the ship, the hull was still in tact and therefore still afloat. She stayed there until November 1985, when she was deliberately sunk for recreational diving purposes!

In addition to the 21 diving sites in Aqaba, this sea-side town is actually quite quaint and in most parts very metropolitan. It is my favourite town in Jordan and I would have no worries about visiting the place again… if only it was a little cheaper. Jordan is expensive to live and visit (in comparison to Abu Dhabi), but I really recommend a visit.

By visiting this country you can float on the Dead Sea and visit the baptism site of Jesus, as well as the final resting place of Moses. It is a place full of history.

Now… to plan the next holiday. Me thinks it may be Cyprus!

 

