How my life could have been different if I had a sister….


As you can probably tell from the title of this post, I don’t have a full-blood sister. I have two sister-in-laws, meaning I grew up with two boisterous brothers, but I didn’t get to grow up with a sister. For the first three years of my life, it was okay, my older brother and I got along really well, then it happened…… another brother was born and all of a sudden, my relationship with my older brother changed.

I was pushed aside as my two brothers formed a bond that is indescribable. Life became all about climbing trees, bmx riding and to top it all off … cricket. I tried to be one of the boys, I really did. I would climb to the highest branch in the tree and had no problem getting back on my bike after scraping off all the skin from my knees (the bike by the way had sokey dokes!) I even tried to get involved in cricket, but I couldn’t deny my deep feelings for Barbie, dress-ups and dancing. How I loved to dance. Even if I was semi okay at it, dancing filled me up. I got to combine my love for music with my inherited freakish flexibility from my nanna. In addition to that, I got to dress up in some amazing sparkly costumes and wear some mind-boggling make-up (including leg tan and wigs!)

My bond with my brothers slowly started to drift away as they were dragged to watch, what must have been to them, entire sessions of boredom, as I, along with my team mates, moved our bodies to the music! This was kindly reciprocated by my parents, who dragged me to boring games of cricket.

I begged my parents for a sister, in fact, even at age 12 I would have welcomed a sister. But it was not to be. I was forever destined to play Barbie either by myself or whenever friends were allowed to visit.

Now, as a middle-aged woman, I still resent the fact that my parents down right refused to provide me with a sister. I wore the tag “tom boy” throughout my early teenage years due to the fact that I wasn’t scared to get down and dirty when playing sports. In fact, I was part of the school rugby team. The “tom boy” image faded eventually, when my feminine traits started to fully develop. By age sixteen, I became interested in my hair and my clothes and even make-up. I also became popular with the boys.

This was when I needed a sister. My parents had never come across the teenage hormones of a girl, the identity crisis, or how important it was to wear the latest fashion. They didn’t know how important it was to chat for hours on the phone, or to have the right hairstyle. Had I have had a sister, she would have at least supported me. Having my father (an engineer) cut my hair as a teenage girl was not cool. Nor was it cool that my mother still wanted to keep me as her little girl and would buy me pink frilly clothes. Despite my desire to be cool, I did not have the resources to by the latest clothes. Oh, to have a second wardrobe to choose from.

As a competitive family, I am sure that my sister and I would have had make-up competitions. I would have had someone to apply my nail polish on my right hand properly! Today, I rarely wear make-up. I remember being given a lesson on make-up application about 10 years ago….. I am pretty sure that the colours are now out of style. But it is all I know. My sister and I would have no doubt also competed over style. Buying the trendiest and latest fashion item would have been our thing. Today, I buy most of my clothes second-hand. I do not understand the amount of money women spend on clothes. I also HATE, I mean DESPISE clothes shopping. Going to the mall is, in my mind, similar to a visit to the dentist.

Then there would have been the gossip about boys and celebrities. I would have at least understood a little more about why women gossip about silly little things. Today, I have no time for these conversations. I am more interested in the Australian Football League and the Formula 1. As a result, I tend to get along more with men than women and this can sometimes come with its own problems as I am NOT one of the boys. I am, as the men like to say, a skirt. I still have some feminine traits.

Finally, I am sure, that my biggest wish as a child would have come true. I would have got a trampoline. My sister and I would have pestered my father until he would have finally given in. I could have been in the Olympics!

Yes, life would have been very different if I had of had a sister….. but I wouldn’t trade my brothers in for the world!

