It’s gonna be okay!


There is nothing in the world that is more powerful, than knowing that no matter what, it’s going to be okay. Funnily enough, we spend hours, months, decades worrying. We worry about our kids, our parents, money, our partner, our job and 99.9% of the time, it all works out in the end. Don’t get me wrong, there are hard, trying times in everyone’s life, but somehow we make it through, we adjust.

What if today, I told you, no matter what your are worrying about, it’s going to be okay? Would you do anything different? Millions of people put their faith in God to give them hope for a brighter future. They find peace in their faith. What if I asked you to have faith in these four words: It’s gonna be okay?

You may ask me to listen to my own words. That would be a fair enough statement. I have spent years worrying about my attempts to conceive. But today, I know that no matter what, it’s going to be okay. Why? Because I have options. I am so excited about my back-up plan, that either way, having a child or not, will not define the rest of my life.

I have resigned from a dead-end job without security of a new job coming along. This was a huge step for me, but something tells me that it is going to be okay. My husband is so frustrated in his current position, but I know, that he will be okay. It may take time, but I know (as does he) that in five years time we will look back on today’s frustrations and laugh.

As some of you will know, I just got back from Jordan. One of the things that sticks out in my mind about this trip is meeting a young man called Ali, with the yellowest teeth, pointing in all directions. He and his family all worked at the Petra site, offering tourists either donkey rides or selling souvenirs. They actually lived around the site and obviously had very little money. Ali however had such a love for life. His smile brightened up his face and he would laughingly state in broken English various times; “Don’t worry, be happy!”

The hubster and I have a lavish lifestyle compared to Ali, however he was right, we seemed to have 1,000 more worries than him. In some way, I was envious of his mind-set, his freedom of spirit. I yearn to have that love of life, despite the concerns I may have.

So don’t worry, it’s going to be okay… I just know it!

Take it away Bobby McFerrin!

