Seven things my father taught me!


Very very soon, my family will get together and celebrate Father’s Day. I miss these family get-togethers. It always seems to bring to the surface, that we are thousands of miles away. So, unable to give a gift personally, I thought I would share the seven things my father has taught me.

1. Fight for what you believe in

Being popular was never considered a favorable trait in our household. My father not only installed in me the determination to stand my ground, but lived and breathed this motto. No matter if what he believed in went against the grain of the majority, he always followed his beliefs and values. Be a leader not a follower, Dad would insist. My stubborn nature enabled me to easily fight for what I believed in. I have lost so-called friends fighting for my own cause, I have even had some huge arguments with my father, but in his eyes I always saw a speck of respect; the acknowledgement that I was a fighter for my own beliefs.

Sometimes I swore I would hear him whisper: “That’s my girl.”

2. There IS a man worthy of your attention…just not that one…OR that one…

Dating. *Sigh* Every father’s nightmare. I always joke that I am going to have a son, so I can teach him how to treat women. He’ll go out there and show all of his friends how to properly treat women, thus starting the domino effect of great future boyfriends and husbands. You’re welcome, world.

Huddle in close, I have a secret to share with you. I’ve had my fair share of relationship horror stories. I know this seems farfetched because after a lot of wrong turns and poor dating choices, I finally stumbled across my equal. The truth is, I dated some doozies.

Dad “giving me away” to another man!

Most of my male friends growing up were afraid of my dad, and I didn’t blame them. My dad must have a jerk radar, and he definitely emits a “mess with my daughter, I DARE YOU”vibe. I wouldn’t want to date me if I were a guy, and I’m glad I never had to go through the process of shaking my dad’s hand the first time.The hubster is a good 10 years older than me, has been married before with two children and was once my boss, so Dad definitely had his guard up. After meeting Shannon for a week, I could tell Dad had warmed up enough to him in order to give him his blessing to marry me!

3. If you are going to do something, do it properly or don’t do it at all!

My father has an amazing gift of fixing what others say is impossible. He not only fixes the mistake, put will improve any other issues that may be wrong. He can often see the big picture instead of just focusing on the minor details. While I do not have this gift of fixing particular items, I do have the ability to see the bigger picture while others get caught up in the details. My mind will often work differently to my colleagues, causing frustrations sometimes, but like my father, I am a firm believer that if you are going to do something – do it properly or don’t do it at all!

4. Take the emotion out of it.

I used to think that it was because my father was a male that he was able to make decisions based on facts rather than emotions. All too often, whenever things are close to my heart, I will call out to Dad to help me make a life decision. Being an engineer, finding a solution is a matter of breaking things down, finding out what part isn’t working properly, finding a solution to that part and then rebuilding. Dad’s solution to my life decisions are based on the same principles. Break the matter down, find out what is bothering you, fix that and then move on. Although he never actually said these words, he did teach me that emotions should not play a major part in making a decision.

5. The Value Of Money

My father worked extremely hard for every dollar he earnt. He was a blue-collar worker, yet was able to comfortably provide for his wife and three children. He set an example of looking for ways to enhance returns on your money through various investments and taught me all about shares, superannuation and compounding interest. While we lived comfortably, my father still raised three children who knew that money was not always easy to come by. One of the traits I am known for is squirreling money away for a rainy day. At age 21 I was a proud owner of my first house (and mortgage!). Sure, I have made mistakes with money, put money into some bad investments, but I still value every dollar (or dirham in my particular case) that I earn.

6. Have a sense of humor

Dad has a plethora of very ridiculous jokes that are certain to make every daughter’s eyes roll. His humor is warped….. really warped. And though his “dad jokes” can be quite embarrassing, he has never stopped telling them – even when things aren’t going his way. There have been days when one of Dad’s pathetic jokes is the only thing that made me smile for the day. While I now live thousands of miles away, I have been missing Dad’s sense of humor, but I know he will definitely make up for it again, when I see him next!

7. Manamana

Sometimes, things happen in life that you just can’t change. It’s easy to bury your head in your pillow and scream for two hours, but it doesn’t accomplish a whole lot. Things happen that we have no control over, and that’s part of life. You can sit around feeling sorry for yourself, or you can get out of bed in the morning knowing that there are people out there who are in worse situations than you. One of Dad’s sayings is that the sun will always rise tomorrow. The other is Ma Na Ma Na. Dad taught me the lesson of accepting the things you can’t change, or not sweating the small stuff. There are just times when there is no point fighting any more ….. while I was taught to fight for what I believe in, I was also taught to choose my battles wisely!

Take control over your own life, because if you don’t, your hardships will cause you to lose your mind all together.

